Student Prizes

Each year, up to two prizes are given at the New Zealand Association for Behaviour Analysis Annual Conference for the best student paper(s). Since 2005, these have been allocated according to subject area – one for the best Experimental Analysis of Behaviour (EAB) paper, and one for the best Applied Behaviour Analysis (ABA) paper. The judges also award additional prizes to papers and posters they feel were particularly strong in a given year. Prior to 2005, these were allocated according to level of study – one for the best PhD student paper, and one for the best Honours/Masters student paper.

Best EAB talk: Nicola Morton (University of Canterbury, paper: Non-symbolic comparison of intensive and extensive magnitudes with added noise)

Best ABA talk: Jenna van Deurs ( University of Canterbury, paper:Treating Sleep Disturbance in Young People with Autism)

Best poster: David Hollands (Waikato University, poster: Visual Search Behaviour and the Advance-key Procedure)

Best EAB talk: Stephanie Gomes-Ng (University of Auckland, paper: Control by past experience and external stimuli in uncertain environments)

Best ABA talk: Rhian Collings (paper: Behavioural Skills Training package: Teaching teachers to implement the IISCA)

Best translational talk: Bradley Drysdale (Monash University, Using eye-tracking to explore gaze behaviour of primary school children to text: How
do they locate relevant information?)

Best poster: Zoe Walsh (Victoria University of Wellington, Thinking about our past does not impact self-control)


Best EAB talk: Jared Pickett (Victoria University of Wellington, The Description-Experience Gap: How descriptions of probability affect our decision making)

Best ABA talk: Margaret Gertzog (University of Auckland, From near-zero to hero: Synthesised analysis and treatment of problem behaviour)

Also awarded: Mike Kendig (University of Sydney, Cue-potentiated feeding and exposure to variety)

Also awarded: Stephanie Gomes-Ng (University of Auckland, paper: Relative Reinforcer Rates Determine Divided Control by Conflicting Stimuli)

Poster presentation first place: Lydia Chapman (Victoria University of Wellington, poster: Altering Slot Machine Balance: Effects on Preferences for Various Slot Machine Features)

Poster presentation second place: Melanie Chan, Emily Parkinson & Ksenia Kolesnikova (Monash University, poster: A Systematic Review of Virtual Reality as an Intervention for Social Skills Training)

Best EAB paper: Jessica Langley (University of Auckland, paper: The midsession reversal task: An accurate indicator of behavioural flexibility in pigeons?)

Best ABA paper: Sarah Taylor (University of Auckland, paper: Tube feeding to oral feeding: Development of an antecedent based assessment model)

Best translational paper: Rana Asgarova (Victoria University of Wellington, paper: Probability discounting of medical benefits and harms)


Surrey Jackson (University of Waikato, paper: A microanalysis of body weight as a motivating operation)

Vikki Bland (University of Auckland, paper: Impact of Signalled alternative reinforcement on persistence of target responding)

Other commendations: Rebecca Olsen, Rana Asgarova, Renee Lee Cachia, and Vincent Thor Allen.


Best EAB Paper: John Bai (The University of Auckland, Paper: Response rates and persistence after response-contingent food and additional stimuli)

Best ABA Talk: Mitchell Stevenson, Shaun Pearl , Vanessa Rausa, and Simon Finkelstein (Monash University, Paper: Teaching job skills to adults with ASD: Efficacy of video modelling)


Best EAB Paper: Sarah Cowie (The University of Auckland, Paper: A step in time from 1 to 9: Discriminating local food ratio reversals that occur a fixed time after the last reinforcer)

Best ABA Paper: Elin Engstrom (The University of Auckland, Paper: Applied behaviour analysis in a dementia care facility)

Best Honours/Masters Student Paper: Jonas Chan (The University of Auckland, Paper: Stimulus control and resistance to extinction in combined stimulus contexts)


Three student prizes were awarded in 2012, irrespective of subject area:

Rebecca Sharp (The University of Auckland, Paper: How representativeness is affected by temporal dimensions of responding)

Sarah Cowie (The University of Auckland, Paper: Simplifying the contingency: remember stimuli enhance control by local food ratios)

Gordon Tan (Victoria University of Wellington, Paper: The effect of relational training on slot machine play: Walking the walk as opposed to just talking the talk)


Best EAB Paper: John Bai (The University of Auckland, Paper: Context Matters: Resistance to Change in a Combined Stimulus Context)

Best ABA Paper: Victoria Burney (The University of Auckland, Paper: Using Brief Functional Analysis to Determine the Functions of Emerging Speech in Children with Autism Spectrum Disorder)


Best Student Paper: Andrew Hucks (University of Canterbury, Paper: Probability bisection in the pigeon)


Best EAB Paper: Nathalie Boutros (The University of Auckland, Paper: The characterization of conditional reinforcers)

Best ABA Paper: Rebecca Sharp (The University of Auckland, Paper: Modified incidental teaching with lag schedules of reinforcement to increase variable manding in a child with expressive language deficits)


Best Student Paper: Mary Armistead (University of Waikato, Paper: Behavioural Economics: Demand for Different Feeds with Horses)


No award given (NZABA conference was held in conjunction with the 4th International ABA Conference in Sydney, Australia)


Best EAB Paper: Elizabeth Kyonka (University of Canterbury, Paper: Smart heuristics that make life simple: response allocation when reinforcement varies on multiple dimensions in concurrent chains)

Best ABA Paper: Sarah Taylor (The University of Auckland, Paper: Token Economy in a Substance Abuse Programme for Teens)


Best EAB Paper: Lavinia Tan (University of Canterbury, Paper: Nothing but Number? Numerical Reproduction in Pigeons)

Best ABA Paper: Shilpa Wilson (The University of Auckland, Paper: Errorless Compliance Training)


Best PhD Student Paper: Celia Lie (University of Otago, Paper: Behavioural Models of Signal Detection: Punishment for Errors)

Best Honours/Masters Student Paper: Alaina Dunnett (The University of Auckland, Topic: Stimulus control in within-session choice)


Best PhD Student Paper: Christian Krageloh (The University of Auckland, Paper: Behaviour analysis and ontology)

Best Honours/Masters Student Paper: ?


Best PhD Student Paper: Rebecca Sargisson (University of Otago, Paper: Timing, Remembering, and Generalisation)

Best Honours/Masters Student Paper: E. Lin Ong (University of Otago, Paper: Self control and ethanol consumption with rats)


Best PhD Student Paper: Rebecca Sargisson (University of Otago, Paper: The effect of delay frequency and reinforcer probability manipulations on the form of the forgetting function)

Best Honours/Masters Student Paper: Heather Peters (Victoria University of Wellington, Paper: A novel self-control procedure)